Board Members and Committee Chairs

Home and School Association

H.S.A. Executive Board 2022-2023

Claudia Fortunato and Anna Salerno

Maria Penava and Laura Waisnor
Co-Vice Presidents

Valerie Auyeung and Laura McGrath

Jahae Kim
Recording Secretary

Sarah Traband
Technical Secretary

HSA Announcements

Amazon Smile
Need an excuse to shop? Shop through Amazon Smile and choose Benjamin Franklin Middle School Home and School Association as your charitable organization. AmazonSmile is a simple and automatic way for you to support our school every time you shop, at no additional cost to you.
Here is the link:

Set up your Amazon prime account with “Amazon Smiles” and BFMS will receive a small percentage of your total purchase (on eligible items). It is easy to set this up on your app and you do NOT have to go through the AmazonSmiles site anymore!

Step 1: Go to your Amazon app and click on the “more information symbol” (looks like 3 horizontal lines)

Step 2: Scroll down to Settings.

Step 3: Choose AmazonSmiles.

Step 4: Choose/Search for Benjamin Franklin Middle School Home & School Association

Step 5:Turn on AmazonSmiles

You will have to renew every 6 months but now, any purchase you make that is eligible for AmazonSmiles through your app, will be included as part of your AmazonSmile impact for BF! Continue to use the AmazonSmiles website when shopping on your computer.

HSA Committee Chairs 2022-2023

Committee Chairs, please fill out this report form after your event

Community Outreach


Hawes School Liaison

Kelly Ashford

Somerville School Liaison

Stacey Barsa

Travell School Liaison

Cat Gray

RHS Liaison

Kelly Nakasone

LSHSA Liaison

Marguerite Carmody

Assemblies/Author Visits

Anna Salerno

BF Cares

Erin Yates

Book Discussion Group (Parents) 

Tanya Lesser

No-Cook Fundraiser

Rachel Yang


Friends of Music

Mayumi Harada

David Langan


Sarah Traband

New Parent Liaison

Kate Freeborn

8th Grade Luau Chair

Erin Marrazzo

Jill Powers

8th Grade Promotion Celebration (7th Grade Parents)

Larisa Shlahet

8th Grade After-Promotion Event 

Cat Gray

Jaehae Kim

8th Grade Dance

Maria Penava and Laura Waisnor

7th Grade Event

Daniela Grieco

Lisa Faris

Terry Shore

6th Grade Event

Janine Gulya

Co-chair open

Library Aides

Sarah Traband

Reading Marathon

Lisette Ramos

Melissa Fluet 


J’Naia Boyd

Spirit Nights Fall/Spring Fling

Carol Waldman

Mayumi Harada Brescia

Haunted House

Jaclyn and Chad Carter

Damir Penava

STEAM Chairs 

Anna Salerno

Apparel Chair 

Kristin Caldwell

Ktanya Schwartzberg

Teacher & Staff Appreciation

Jamie Cariddi

Laura Waisnor


Sarah Traband

Clothing Drive

Sukrutha Gosukonda

Ice Pop 

Laura Waisnor

Parent Social 

Erin Gisonno

Chantell Gisonno

Book Fair

Anna Salerno

Kristin Massey

Holiday Boutique

Chair Open